South Florida Hospital News
Wednesday June 20, 2018

test 2

June 2018 - Volume 14 - Issue 12




South Florida Hospital News and Healthcare Report - WEEKLY UPDATE NEWSLETTER MONDAY JUNE 18, 2018


Abbey Delray South announces Rachel Blumberg as the senior living community’s new executive director. A native of South Florida, Blumberg has worked in the healthcare and senior living industries for more than 18 years, most recently serving in a similar role in Fort Lauderdale.

Wellington Regional Medical Center (WRMC) recently adopted a new technology to improve the surgical experience for women who are being treated for breast cancer.  An alternative to wire localization, SAVI SCOUT® Surgical Guidance System is a device used by surgeons and radiologists to precisely locate and direct the removal of a tumor during a lumpectomy or surgical biopsy procedure. 

FAU Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine Professor Publishes Results of Pilot Study in Journal ‘Pain Management’ 
The scenario is all too familiar for the majority of parents. The crying, the screaming and the tantrums as they try to coax their children into the doctor’s office for routine immunizations. After all, who can’t relate to being fearful and anxious about needles?
Needle phobia is one of the most common fears among children who receive vaccines and they are exposed to needles on numerous occasions throughout their childhood. This causes many children fear, anxiety and pain. In some cases, needle phobia and needle anxiety may even cause parents to delay scheduled visits with the doctor. 
Jupiter Medical Center is pleased to welcome Joanne O. Miller, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, as the organization’s new vice president and chief nursing officer. 
Miller has 28-years of nursing and health care executive experience, and she comes to Palm Beach County from Washington, DC, where she served as chief nursing officer and vice president of patient care for Sibley Memorial Hospital/Johns Hopkins Medicine, a not-for-profit hospital in the Johns Hopkins Health System. 
Nicklaus Children’s Hospital has received three new Beacon Awards for Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), bringing to nine the total number of hospital units that have garnered Beacon Award status. Nicklaus Children’s is the only children’s hospital in the nation to be recognized with nine Beacon Awards, demonstrating the hospital’s commitment to excellence in inpatient care through use of evidence-based data to enhance outcomes and satisfaction.
Next generation of mobile breast cancer detection services now available to South Florida community
The newly designed Kathy Krickstein Pressel MammoVan recently arrived at Boca Raton Regional Hospital. The van travels throughout South Florida to provide early breast cancer detection services and breast health education.
Easterseals South Florida is proud to announce the election of Lourdes Rivas to its Board of Directors.

A distinguished health care executive with more than 20 years of industry experience, Ms. Rivas is currently the Medicaid plan president for Simply Healthcare Plans, an Anthem, Inc. company. In this role, Ms. Rivas is responsible for delivering operational excellence to more than 600,000 members of Simply Healthcare’s Medicaid, Florida Healthy Kids, Managed Long-Term Care and HIV/AIDS Specialty programs. Prior to joining Simply Healthcare, Ms. Rivas held positions at MBF Healthcare Partners, DentaQuest, PrescribeIT Rx and United Home Care Services. 

Florida Medical Center is pleased to announce that it donated 4,173 servings of cereal during the hospital’s annual Healthy Over Hungry Cereal Drive and collected $2,500 to donate to Feeding South Florida.  

New leaders were elected and members added at the most recent Board of Directors meeting of the Memorial and Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital Foundations.

Thomas Oliveri, senior market executive for Northern Trust, becomes the new board chair, following the term of Entrepreneur Stu Siegel. Andrew Greenfield, M.D. (Envision Physician Services) moves into the role of first vice chair and R. Douglas Gawrych (Grant Thornton) becomes the second vice chair. Other leaders include: Treasurer Douglas Collier, Secretary Susanne Cornfeld Hurowitz, and at-large members Nina Beauchesne, Brett Rose, and Carl Schuster. 


1 thru 10 out of 127 >>
Share |