DCMA 4th Annual Resident & Medical Students Research Competition Finalists

April 10, 2023 – The Dade County Medical Association (DCMA) recently held the 4th Annual Residents and Medical Students Research Competition with 19 finalists at Pullman Miami Airport Hotel in Miami, FL.

“I would like to thank and congratulate all of the Resident and Medical Student Research Competition participants. I would also like to encourage all of the medical students and residents training in Miami-Dade County to participate in the coming years. Activities like this not only advance science and disseminates information for the benefit of the patient, but it also fosters camaraderie among the physicians in the community. ” commented Rafael Fernandez, MD, President of the DCMA.

The fourth edition of the competition had the participation of 71 submitted projects. The first phase of the competition included a review by an evaluation committee that anonymously selected the finalists.  The 19 students and residents who received the highest rankings in the initial review had the opportunity to present their research at the event.

The following Medical Schools and Residency Programs participated in the competition: American University of Antigua  FIU Collaboration; Baptist Health South Florida; Bascom Palmer Eye Institute; Community Health South Florida; Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine; HCA Florida Aventura Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency; Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital; Keralty Hospital Miami; Memorial Healthcare System; Nicklaus Children’s Hospital; Palmetto General Hospital; the University of Miami  Desai Sethi Urology Institute; and the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. Florida International University (FIU) and Keralty Hospital Miami were the institutions with the most submissions with 18 followed by the University of Miami with 17.

The finalists also received some practical advice on the practice of medicine from Ben Assad Mirza, JD from Mirza Healthcare Law Partners.

The Competition Evaluating Committee was composed of Andrea Bonansea-Frances, M.D.; Eneida Roldan, M.D.; Enrique Fernandez, M.D.; Julie Kantor, M.D.; Jefry Biehler, M.D.; Antonio Mesa, D.O., and Chief Editor of Miami Medicine Journal; Rafael J. Fernandez, M.D., President of the DCMA, Jose D. Suarez, MD, Immediate Past-President of the DCMA and Research Competition Chair.

The winners of the competition were:

  • First Place – Chemoresistance of Retinoblastoma – Michelle Zhang from the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Second Place – Progressive Keratoconus in Older Patients with Delayed Corneal Cross-linking Treatment – Nicole Kantor from Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
  • Third Place – Prevalence of Amyloidosis in Patients Undergoing Carpal Tunnel Release – Caitlyn Chong-Yen from the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

The judges gave a Special Honorary Mention to Rachel Westone from Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine for her presentation entitled Accuracy of Wound Classification: Lessons Learned After Education.

All winners will be able to publish their research papers in the DCMA Scientific publication, Miami Medicine, the Journal of the Dade County Medical Association.

Dr. Jacquelline Leva, D.O. conceived the idea of the Resident Research Competition in 2019 to honor Resident’s Day. The DCMA continues to host this event to support the initiatives and interests of the local Medical Students and Residents.

For more information about the competition and how to take advantage of the membership benefits of the DCMA, you can visit www.miamimed.com.

About the DCMA

The DCMA is the organization of choice for physicians who advocate for patients and the quality and sustainability of the practice of medicine. Its mission is to support its members in all aspects of the practice of medicine; to serve physicians and their patients by establishing and promoting ethical, educational, and clinical standards for the medical profession, and to advocate the highest principle of all, the integrity of the patient/physician relationship.