South Florida Hospital News
Friday December 14, 2018

test 2

January 2018 - Volume 14 - Issue 7




Dr. Anselmo Cepero-Akselrad Elected Vice President of Medical Staff of Nicklaus Children's Hospital

Anselmo Cepero-Akselrad, M.D., has been elected vice president of the Nicklaus Children’s Hospital Medical Executive Committee (MEC) for a two-year term. The committee serves as the governing body for the hospital’s 800-member medical staff.

Dr. Cepero-Akselrad is Director of the Division of Nephrology for the hospital. He earned his medical degree from the University of Havana, Cuba and completed his residency at Nicklaus Children’s Hospital (then Miami Children’s Hospital). He completed fellowships in pediatrics and pediatric nephrology at New Y4rk Hospital-Cornell Medical Center.
Dr. Marcelo Laufer, with the hospital’s Division of Infectious Diseases, continues a term begun last year as president of the MEC. Dr. Laufer earned his medical degree from the Universidad Nacional de Asuncion School of Medicine, Paraguay. He completed his pediatric residency and a fellowship in infectious diseases and immunology at Jackson Memorial Hospital.
Other members of the medical executive committee for 2018 include Mayra Capote, MD; M. Antonella Denaro, DO; Ruben Gonzalez-Vallina, MD; Ziad Khatib, MD; Alex B. Koetzle, MD; Sarah Legorburu-Selem, MD; Leopoldo Malvezzi, MD; Rigoberto Nuñez, MD; Jose Rosa-Olivares, MD; Efren Salinero, MD; and Stephen Swirsky, DO.
Share |