South Florida Hospital News
Tuesday June 2, 2020

test 2

May 2019 - Volume 15 - Issue 11




FAU Appoints Safiya George, Ph.D., as Dean of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing

Florida Atlantic University has named Safiya George, Ph.D., as the new dean of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing. She is only the third dean to be appointed in the college’s 40-year history. George previously served as a member of the faculty at Emory University’s Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing until she was recruited in 2015 to the Capstone College of Nursing at the University of Alabama, where she has served as assistant dean for research, director of the Office of Scholarly Affairs, and a member of the advisory board of the Alabama Life Research Institute. She also has served as faculty in the Honors College and faculty-in-residence for residential honors students at the University of Alabama.

George will assume her role as dean effective July 8, where she will spearhead FAU’s College of Nursing, which is nationally and internationally known for its excellence and philosophy of caring science.
George earned her Ph.D. and MSN degrees from Emory University and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Duke University in religion and health. Since 2015, under her leadership, Capstone College of Nursing has experienced tremendous growth in scholarly activities, including significant increases in extramural funding. She is described as a great mentor, role model and colleague by executive leadership, faculty, staff and students at the Capstone College of Nursing.
In 2017, George was elected to serve on the international board of directors for Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, where she also has held numerous leadership roles, including chair of the International Service Taskforce, elected member of the Leadership Succession Committee and vice president of the Epsilon Omega Chapter.
George is a board certified adult nurse practitioner (ANP). In 2018, she was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners. 
Share |