The South Florida Hospital and Healthcare Association (SFHHA) re-elected Calvin Glidewell Chairman of the Board during the organization’s annual meeting. Glidewell is the Chief Executive Officer of Broward General Medical Center. Calvin has over 20 years of healthcare experience and was with the University Community Health System in Tampa for sixteen years, before coming to Broward Health 4 years ago. Glidewell received his undergraduate degree with honors from Vanderbilt University and holds a Master of Business Administration and a Master of Public Health from Tulane University.
In addition to his re-election, SFHHA announced other officers: Mark Bryan, CEO, Delray Medical Center, is Vice Chairman; Anthony Degina, CEO, University of Miami Hospital is Immediate Past Chairman. James Ball, COO, Catholic Health Services, is Treasurer; and Bo Boulenger, CEO, Baptist Hospital, is Secretary. Two additional Board members serve “at large” on the Association’s Executive Committee; Dian Backoff, Vice President of Operations, Vitas and C. Kennon Hetlage, CEO, Memorial Hospital West.
Newly elected Board of Directors members include; Alex Contreras, CAO, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Derek Murzyn, CEO, Kindred Hospital Fort Lauderdale, Ernesto Perez, CEO, Dade Medical College, J Michael Cowling, CEO, Palm Beach Gardens Medical Center, Jeffrey Freimark, CEO, Miami Jewish Health System, Patricia Greenberg, President, National Healthcare, Susan Pinnas, Senior Vice President, AvMed Health Plan.
Existing Board of Directors include Agustin Arellano, President, Ohl/Arellano Construction, Aurelio Fernandez, CEO, Memorial Hospital Miramar, Charles Felix, Publisher, South Florida Hospital News and Healthcare Report, Dan Brady, Executive Director, Douglas Gardens Community Mental Health Center, Lincoln Mendez, CEO, South Miami Hospital, Manny Linares, CEO, North Shore Medical Center, Michele Chulick, Associate Vice President, UM Miller School of Medicine, Steve Ullmann, Director, University of Miami Health Policy Management and Stuart Podolnick, Executive, Trane.